Hey1 fox so last weekend my friend asked if i could help her on her Comp Sci project, Little did she know im not a programming genius. So i've come to the one and only Daniweb for help... here's what she's supposed to do..

Write a C++ program by completing the following steps:
1.Write the heading for a bool function Equals that has two value float parameters, x and y.
2.Write the function prototype for the function in Step 1.
3.Write a body for the function in Step 1 that compares x and y, returning true if their difference is less than 0.0001, and false otherwise.
4.Write the main function that reads two float numbers from keyboard, call the function using these two floats as arguments, and display a message that includes the two numbers compared and the either they are equal or not based on the value returned by function.

All help is appreciated make me look good guys :D thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Does "friend" mean teacher?

How much have you completed so far? Post what you have, please.

Such a stupidly easy program.. I don't see why u wouldn't be able to make it.. took me 5 minutes max to make this.. Of course it can be optimized but I will not do this for you.. Secondly since I'm posting it below and I don't know if it's really your friend or for you, I will have to trust that you understand the code below or else u are just screwing yourself over.

@Mods:
If I get an infraction for this, there is no rule saying I cannot post code as long as I wrote it myself. As for spelling, there is no forum rules saying I must spell you instead of u. So whoever gave me an infraction just now for that, get a life.

#include <iostream>
#include <cmath>
#include <windows.h>

using namespace std;

float x, y;
bool Compare(float x, float y);

int main()
{
	cout<<"Enter a value for X: ";
	cin>> x;
	cin.ignore();

if(cin.fail())
	{
		cout<<"Error. The value must be a number! \n\n";
		cin.clear();
		cin.get();
	}

cout<<"Enter a value for Y: ";
	cin>> y;