while (???) //while int is being read
        {
            in_gradebook >> score;
            out_gradebook << score << " ";
            sum = sum + score;
        }
        average = sum / 10.0;
        out_gradebook << average << endl;

Here is a small snippet of the code I have trouble with.

My professor told me there's a way to end the loop when the input from in_gradebook is no longer type int, which I have no idea how to do. Basically, my loop goes on forever because the variable score gets the string FIRST_NAME_2 of the second line. What is a good way to end the loop when there are no more numbers to input?

The input file goes something like this:
FIRST_NAME LAST_NAME 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
FIRST_NAME_2 LAST_NAME_2 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

As you can see I am only a beginner :$, I apologize beforehand if I do not understand replies that may be beyond my level.

use while(1) loop and inside the loop read one character at a time.
Break from the loop on getting something other that 0-9.
Handle the space explicitly.
If the numbers are multi-digit numbers you will have to use temp buffer to store the number till u get a space.

Comments
Terrible suggestion

Thank you for replying.

I understand what you are trying to say, but how do I start the loop at the numbers?
If I do in_gradebook.get(input_character), then I would have to get all the characters of the first and last name too right? Or does .get start where the last >> left off? Will check now, thank you.

I have found the solution:twisted:! I didn't follow your advice completely (couldn't figure out what temporary buffer is), but it definitely works now. I used...

stringstream score_list;

while (true)
        {
            in_gradebook.get(input_char);
            if (input_char == '\n')
            {
                while (score_list >> score)
                {
                out_gradebook << score << " ";
                sum = sum + score;
                }
                break;
            }