I have to do this project in which several employees need to be added to the system.

The system admin should be able to allocate jobs that each of those employees will be doing after verifying whether that job is already attached to the employee or not and whether that job exists.

I also need to be able to list all the employees who are on the system as well as all the jobs which are available.

The employers need to be listed when you type the job name in, and the jobs need to be listed for each employee when you type the employee's name in.

I'm not allowed to use databases (which would make the whole thing SO easy) and I'm not a total expert at java so can someone suggest what the best approach towards this project would be?

I was thinking to use a hashmap to map each employee to their jobs, and making the jobs into an array for each employer. But that would require the system admin to hardcode some data in for each employee since it'll be done like....

ArrayList joesJobs;
joesJobs.put("Job1")
joesJobs.put("Job2")

and then doing an if statement saying if (user has searched for "joe") print joesJobs

This in my opinion is a pretty bad method and requires hardcoding of data so I'd love to hear some alternatives and hopefully if there's a really good method suggested then I'd use that.

Oh and +1 for every good suggestion!

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Waiting...

All you need is an Employee class, whose members include a collection (eg ArrayList) of Jobs, and a Job class whose members include an Employee (or collection of Employees if a Jab may involve multiple Employees). You can also have an Employer class whose members include a complete list of Employees and Jobs. The Employer class is also where you will have methods for adding Employees, creating new Jobs, and assigning Jobs to Employees.
None of this involves hard coding any data at all.

Okay so say I create a new employee and give him a name like so...

Employee employee = new Employee();