Hi all, I'm new to java programming but finding it rather fun and interesting. Right now I have

for(String name : chkNms) {

JCheckBox checkBox = new JCheckBox(name);

checkBox.setMnemonic(KeyEvent.VK_C);
	    checkBox.setSelected(false);

// checkBox.setActionCommand(name);

add(checkBox);

checkBox.addActionListener(this);
	}

to create all the check boxes I need, roughly 30 or so. The last line add's each of the check boxes to the listener method I've created. The question now is, how do I set the listener to do something based on whats checked?

What the check boxes are for is to function as a "on" or "off" switch of values to be searched for in a Excel document for data extraction. IE: there is a check box for date and job (titled properly) if both are checked on I want to pass/add the string values of "Date" and "Job" into an array. The array will then be used to check the top cell of each column to see if "Date" or "job" are present, if yes, extract that Column of data.

Thanks for you help and time.

Recommended Answers

All 28 Replies

In your listener, you can get a reference to the clicked object with e.getSource() , which you can then cast to JCheckBox . You can toggle your variable values based on JCheckBox.isSelected() .

Thank you Ezzaral, would you mind posting an example using Date and Job like I did earlier.

I already have code of my own to write here at work. Give it a go and if you have more questions post them here with your code.

One option would be to use a single listener for all of the check boxes to toggle values in a HashMap<String,Boolean> when they are checked/unchecked. You can then build your Excel filter criteria from the "true" values in that map.

class FilterCheckAction extends AbstractAction{
            public void actionPerformed(ActionEvent e) {
                filterMap.put(e.getActionCommand(), ((JCheckBox)e.getSource()).isSelected());
            }
        }

I already have a class that does