Hi,

I am a beginner (not a total beginner though) in C#.
I am writing here because I want someone to give me advice on what to program in my free time in order to learn C# more. For example, I know how to zip/unzip files, read/write from xml files, use OpenXml, connect with database, send mail via code. I have read tutorials/books for programming in C#.

What do you think I can learn to do that I will need in the future? For example, I learned how to zip/unzip because a colleague told me I will use it a lot in many projects.

What do you suggest I program next?

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

The first thing I ever programmed was a magic 8 ball :)

I guess it depends, you could scour source forge for an open source project that needs help (though I think a lot of that is C++ not C#, and not usually .NET) or try Google Code for the same.

Have you tried client/server stuff? If you want a headache and lots of head scratching that will make you learn, socket programming can be fun (and frustrating) if you have a network to play on.

You could also try CRUD development, and create a program that stores data, analyses it and charts it etc...

Some other generic ideas:

* A journaling program that uses rich text, encryption to keep entries secure and multiple users.
* A program that analyses vehicle gasoline performance based on mileage, tire, oil and other maintenance.
* A program that plays Netflix movies (Netflix API and Developer Network)
* A MP3 player
* A video chat program
* A video player
* An image editor
* A web browser

Just some ideas :)

The first thing I ever programmed was a magic 8 ball :)

I guess it depends, you could scour source forge for an open source project that needs help (though I think a lot of that is C++ not C#, and not usually .NET) or try Google Code for the same.