Hello, I wrote two programs which sort first names which are already sorted by their last names.One is with Selection sort and the other is with Quicksort!

The question is , "is any one of them stable?."

"If the names with same first names are still in sorted order by their last names, we call that sort a stable sort"

I got in-stable results for both the sorts by the programs i wrote.Am I correct?
Or is any thing wrong with my codes?
I'm a newbie please help me somebody...
Quicksort

//by ABVK
#include<stdio.h>
#include<string.h>
#include<stdlib.h>

int quick(char fname[][10],char lname[][10],int left,int right){
	if(left<right){
		int newpivi;
		newpivi=partition(fname,lname,left,right);
											//positioning pivot in its correct position.......
		quick(fname,lname,left,newpivi-1);					//left part of the pivot element....
		quick(fname,lname,newpivi+1,right);					//right part of the pivot element.....
		}
}
int partition(char fname[][10],char lname[][10],int left,int right){			//partition function for positioning pivot
		int k=left,i=left+1,j=right;						//left most element is selected as pivot
		char temp1[50],temp2[50];
		char pivot1[50],pivot2[50];
		strcpy(pivot1,fname[left]);
		strcpy(pivot2,lname[left]);
		do {
		while(strcasecmp(fname[k],fname[i])>=0)
				i++;
		while(strcasecmp(fname[k],fname[j])<0)
				j--;
		if(i<j){
			strcpy(temp1,fname[i]);
			strcpy(temp2,lname[i]);
			strcpy(fname[i],fname[j]);
			strcpy(lname[i],lname[j]);
			strcpy(fname[j],temp1);
			strcpy(lname[j],temp2);
			}
		}while(j>i);
		strcpy(temp1,fname[j]);
		strcpy(temp2,lname[j]);
		strcpy(fname[j],fname[k]);
		strcpy(lname[j],pivot2);
		strcpy(fname[k],temp1);
		strcpy(lname[left],temp2);
		return j;
}
main(){
	int i,j,key;
	printf("These names are already sorted by lastname:\n");
	char fname[8][10]={"Phil","Jane","Fred","Bill","Jane","Mary","Fred","Jane"},
     	     lname[8][10]={"Doe","Doe","Doe","Jones","Jones","Smith","Smith","Smith"};
	for(i=0;i<8;i++)