So here is my problem, my friend and I are writing a simple project for a electrical eng. teacher, who really doesn't know too much about programming c++. We were assigned to make a successive approximation ADC Look here in any coding language possible. I would have liked to make it in Java for Linux, but the professor insisted we make it for c++ and specifically for windows. (derp) I have limited c++ knowledge, but I tried my best and wrote a successful decimal to binary conversion loop. However, said friends code refuses to work for any bit value above 30 bits, as in, it crashes when it is entered.

I know it is not a problem with my function, but a problem with the equation. I need just a little help troubleshooting the problem.

Code:

# include <iostream>;
# include <cmath>;
# include <string>;
# include <cstring>;
# include <iomanip>;
#include <windows.h>;
#include <stdio.h>;

using namespace std;
//temp location for ereperation
HANDLE hCon;

//list of colors 1-15 to interface with the console
enum Color { DARKBLUE = 1, DARKGREEN, DARKTEAL, DARKRED, DARKPINK, DARKYELLOW, GRAY, DARKGRAY, BLUE, GREEN, TEAL, RED, PINK, YELLOW, WHITE };

//color function
void SetColor(Color c) //Color c is for the ereperation ^^^^
{
        if(hCon == NULL) //if there isn't a memory location
                hCon = GetStdHandle(STD_OUTPUT_HANDLE); //creates space in console buffer
        SetConsoleTextAttribute(hCon, c);	//sets color in console to selected color for that memory location
}

//main function
int main()
{
char answer;
do {
SetColor(DARKRED); cout << "*********************************************************************************";
SetColor(TEAL);cout << "              Welcome To the Analog to Digital Converter Program              ";SetColor(DARKRED); cout << "* ";
double n ; 
int d = 0;
double x, y;
int z, twotothen, j;
double an, bit, ref;
SetColor(WHITE); cout << " Enter Vref: ";  //All functions have defensive programming:
SetColor(YELLOW);