Hello, all. I am in the process of writing a peg solitaire solver in Python. It will allow the user to select the shape of the board in the future but for now I'm testing it with a standard 5 row triangle game, like the ones you find in Cracker Barrel. It's the game where you start out with pegs in holes, with one hole empty, then jump pegs (like checkers) and try to get exactly one peg remaining in the end. My solver will solve for all solutions for a given starting hole, whether the game ends with one peg, two, etc.

I chose Python as my language of choice for a few reasons:

• I'm new to Python so I want to learn it.
  • I initially thought my data structure would be more involved so I chose Python over C++ to open up the opportunity to use dictionaries.
  • Taking user-entered strings and using them as integers is just easier in interpreted languages.

Turns out C++ probably wouldn't have been too bad a choice but I'm enjoying the experience of learning Python.

Below, you'll find the code for the main recursive algorithm for moving along the board and solving it. The background you may need to understand it is as follows:

• There is a Simulation class that instantiates a simulation object, which contains the move() function. It also has as one of its members a list called moves , which stores all the moves for each possible path that can be taken for each game.
  • board is a board object and temp_stack is the running stack for a current try at solving the game.
  • board.poss_moves is a list of all possible moves the 5 row triangle board contains.