Hi I'm new to this.
I'm a mechanical engineering student and have to learn c++, i have this book and there's a program source code.
My question is: why do we need to include ctime in this code and what is it good for?

#include <iostream>
#include <cstdlib>
[B]#include <ctime>[/B]
#include <cmath>
using namespace std;

int rand_0toN1(int n);
void draw_a_card();

char *suits[4] = { "hearts", "diamonds", "spades", "clubs"};

char *ranks[13] = {"ace", "one", "two", "three", "four", "five", "six", "seven", "eight",
                     "nine", "ten", "jack", "queen", "king"};

int main()
{
  int n, i;

srand(time(NULL));

while (1) {
             cout << "Enter no. of cards to draw ";
cout << "(0 to exit): ";

cin >> n;

if (n == 0)
break;

for(i = 1; i <=n; i++)
draw_a_card();
}
return 0;
}

void draw_a_card() {

int r;

int s;

r = rand_0toN1(13);
s = rand_0toN1(14);

cout << ranks[r] << " of " << suits[s] << endl;
}

int rand_0toN1(int n) {
return rand () % n;
}

P.S I'm using Visual Studi 2010 (c++).
Thanks for any reply.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

HI fobos.
Thanks for your answer first.

Yeah i saw that thread and red it very carefully.
But I'm new to c++ programming and do not understand the most part of those codes there.
That's why I asked what does #include <ctime> do. As much as I can see all of these source codes have something to do with time and clock but my problem( soucecode) has nothing to do with clock or time. (like i said i'm new to c++ and maybe it has but i can't figure it out how).
Thanks again for your reply.

From what i have learned in the past, #includes are like prebuilt function that you can use in your source code if you want to reference it. If you dont need it, then just take it out. Im just going off what you said:

My question is: why do we need to include ctime in this code and what is it good for?