Hi There. I'm trying to fit a function Acos(wt + theta) to my data that I have binned and need to find the best values for the variable parameters A, w and theta so that the cos function fits to my data. However I've tried making a loop for this but it crashes every time I run it. I'm not sure weather this is because my programme uses a ridiculous amount of memory as I try each combination or I'm doing something wrong with my code? I am pretty new to programming so I haven't done this before so have no idea if there is a more efficient method of doing it?

#include <stdio.h>
#include<math.h>
#define N_HITS 1800
#define N_TIME_BINS 78
   int main()
     {
     int i, time_bins[N_TIME_BINS],j,k;
	 float event,time_error[N_TIME_BINS];
     float hit[N_HITS],value;
     FILE *fp, *fw, *fy;
     fp = fopen("damadata.txt" , "r");
     fw = fopen("bindata.txt", "w");
	 fy = fopen("chidata.txt", "w");

for (i=0; i<N_HITS ; i++)  /* enter loop to set array elements to zero*/
     {
       hit[i] = 0;
     }
 for (i=0; i<N_TIME_BINS ; i++)
     {
       time_bins[i] = 0;
     }

if (fp != NULL)
     {                                 
        for(i=0; i<N_HITS; i++)                      /*Enter loop to read all lines of data into hit array*/
          {
          fscanf(fp,"%f\n", &event);                 /*Each line is read into a seperate array element*/
          hit[i]=event; 
          }                                 
     for (i = 0; i < N_HITS; i++)                  /*Now cycle through array containing data elements*/
         {                                          /*Open Loop 1*/                          
            for (j = 0; j < N_TIME_BINS; j++)
            {
               value = hit[i];                       /*Value now equal to element i of array*/                     /*enter loop to bin data into 77 bins of group of 60*/
            if (value >= (j*60) && value < ((j+1)*60))    /*Tests if the value lies within a particular boundary*/
                {