Hello, Im new to c# and i have a little problem.

I have a folder with 5 text files (group1,group2, etc), each contains a list of names.

On my form, I have 2 combo boxes. I want the first one to allow me to select a group (a text file), and once the file is selected, to populate the second one with the names inside it. is that possible? and if it is, how to do it?

You have my gratitude in advance.A

Alex.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

What you're describing can be easy depending on your background in any programming language.

Do you know about System.IO.Directory.GetFiles()?

You can use that inside your Form_Load() to get the names of the files in a directory.
You'll need to split the path off of the names for the content you will put in your combo box of group names.

Other than that, using File.ReadAllLines() should let you get the content from each of those files when necessary.

What you're describing can be easy depending on your background in any programming language.

Do you know about System.IO.Directory.GetFiles()?

You can use that inside your Form_Load() to get the names of the files in a directory.
You'll need to split the path off of the names for the content you will put in your combo box of group names.

Other than that, using File.ReadAllLines() should let you get the content from each of those files when necessary.

I dont have background experience in any language, im just starting.

But yeah, thanks for that lead, i googled it and this came up

foreach (String file in System.IO.Directory.GetFiles(@"C:\blablabla\"))
        {

comboBox1.Items.Add(new System.IO.FileInfo(file).Name);
        }

The combobox was populated with what i had inside that directory. Time to seach the next one.

in C# make an open file dialouge

set the Filter in the properties to Text files (*.txt)|*.txt|All files (*.*)|*.*

DialogResult result = openFileDialog1.ShowDialog();

//Directory of the file that is selected