hi hello! im planning to do a payroll system for our defense project,im a beginner and i want our program to be more complicated in a way that we can still be able to explain it. I want our program to be able to have multiple input boxes, because the only thing that i know is to create a single JOptionPane.showMessageDialog.

IN one box, i wan it to have a lot of input boxes..
thank you :)

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

JFrame has nothing to do with JOptionPane. a JFrame can be used to create your own user screens, so yes, also a 'dialogbox' with as many input fields you need, in the layout you want it to be shown in.

This would be a good place to start learning how to create such screens.

indeed if you are trying to get multiple inputs at once from a user, the JOptionPane can't help you.

you will want to create a class and extend JFrame from it, then Initialize your components and set your layout. You will be using many components to build your form, more than likely you will need many JLabel , JTextField , possibly some JPasswordField and at least one or more JButton , you will also need to add ActionListenners to those JButtons.

For an easy layout to work with for starters, i would suggest using the GridLayout, it will split the screen in a Grid of the size you specify and add the components you give it from left to right and top to bottom.

this.setLayout(new GridLayout(4,2)); //will create grid that is 2 cells wide and 4 cells high

Now, im looking foward to see your first attempts at this gui building, but there is one more thing i would like you to take into consideration while building this; programing standards dictate that a child should not call methods from its parent.

This means that lets say your main program creates and initialize a object of your JFrame extension class, when you click that "save" button or whatever, the form cannot call methods from your main program. It is possible to do it, but semanticaly , it is wrong.