This is a recursive selection sort i would like to be able to change this code without the use of loops into a bubble sort for my assignnment. Ive been trying for an extremelyy long time and im also fairly new to c++ and im struggling. any help would be great...

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

const int MAX = 10;

void InnerLoop(int values[10], int& min, int j)
            {

if(j != MAX)
                {
                    if(values[min] > values[j])
                    {
                        min = j;
                    }
                   InnerLoop(values, min, j+1);
                }

}

void OuterLoop(int values[10], int i)
            {
                int min = i;
                int tempVal = 0;
                if(i != MAX)
                {
                    int j = i;
                    InnerLoop(values, min, j);
                    tempVal = values[i];
                        values[i] = values[min];
                        values[min] = tempVal;
                        OuterLoop(values, i+1);
                    }
                }

int main()
                {
                    int i = 0;
                    int values[10] = { 25, 3, 17, 12, 9, 22, 4, 16, 8, 56 };

cout << "Recursive selection sort \n\n";

cout << "values unsorted:\n";
                    for(int i = 0; i < MAX; i++)
                    cout << values[i] << "\n";

cout << "\nvalues sorted\n";

OuterLoop(values, i);
                    for(int i = 0; i < MAX; i++)
                    cout << values[i] << "\n";

cout << "\nDone\n";
                             system("pause")
                    return 0;
                }

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I would not use this code as base but think logic fresh, looks like machine translation of loops to recursion, yak :(!

• What is the base case you know to sort?
  • How you reduce the size of problem to ultimately this base case by recursing?