Hello

I'm relatively new to Microsoft Visual Studio. Now, the project that I am working consists of a GUI class and two separate classes (lets call them A and B). I am working on the GUI and one of the other classes (A). Basically, these classes interact woth some hardware (A is used for communication, B for Data Acquisition, the details are not relevant)in real-time meaning that we use timers (1ms to 25ms for class A, 1s upto 30 s for B). Now, my friend is working on the class B. In the end, we would need to integrate the codes since I will be providing the GUI. Also, some of the variables of my class A may need to be accesed by class B.

In a similar project done by one of my other friends, they encountered a problem while working with timers. Specifically, they would notice that for e.g the communications timers wont work if the code for the acquisition took more time than the min. timer interrupt for the communication code. They suggest using threads.

So my question is, how would I do this for the classes GUI, A and B as described?

Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

http://www.albahari.com/threading/

This was the best resource I found when starting to work with threads. If I understand your problem correctly, you either want to Sleep each thread to wait for the other to do its work, or possible create a resource lock until your data acquisition thread completes its work, and then the communication thread will gain access to the resource and, well, presumably it will communicate with something.

Anyways, hope this helps.
/H

commented: :) excellent link +14

hey thanks for the link...i'll look into it.... the problem that we are trying to work asround is the following specifically:

1) lets say there is a timer that interrupts every 1ms for the Communication class....the code that is executed takes less than 1 ms each time that timer is called so there should be no problems