Hi All,
Don't know if this is the right forum for this query, but couldn't find anything more suitable.
I have written a new app in VB.net as a front end to a mySQL database held on a PC on the LAN running Windows XP. This worked fine for a while. The PC running the mySQL server started locking up (XP errors, not mySQL errors according to the event logs), so I decided to have a go installing Ubuntu to run the mySQL server to see if that was more stable.
Ubuntu 11.10 is now installed, and mysql server is also running. I have imported the old sql database files and the mySQL workbench shows all tables are imported successfully.

HOWEVER, I cannot get my VB application to connect to the database now it resides on Ubuntu - just returns "Unable to connect to any of the specified MySQL hosts" when i try to open a connection. I am fairly new to Ubuntu and MySQL, and don't know if the fault lies with the O/S (a firewall config problem perhaps?) or if I need to do something different with mySQL.
I can ping the Ubuntu pc from the client pc and vice versa.
I have used ufw to open port 3306 on the server
The ufw logs do not show any errors when I try to connect from the client pc, so I don't think it's a firewall problem (but could be wrong).
I thought it may be something to do with the usernames I use in the connection string, but when I change these (deliberately use the wrong password for example) I get the same message, rather than a username/password error

Is anyone else using a client PC running Windows (W7 or XP) to connect to a mySQL database running on a Ubuntu server?
All help gratefully received. (again - sorry if this is posted in wrong forum)

Toomutch

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Is it a possibility you need to instal the mySQL adapter?

Here are the adapters available.

Do you mean I should install the adapter/connector on the client, or on the server?

On the client.