hi,

Can anyone tell me the exact difference between memset,malloc and calloc.I am new to c++, Know this is simple question to ask in c++ but i am getting lot of confusions in using them and i want to knw whr exactly i can use these.

Regards,
Sharath.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

malloc() is C's equivalent of C++'s new operator. It is usually defined in stdlib.h. It allocates memory for your program to use. It takes a size argument, which must be manually scaled depending on the size of whatever type of data you're trying to allocate. For example, to allocate 6 floats, you would have to use float* fptr = (float*)malloc(6 * sizeof(float));.

memset() is a function that sets all the bytes in a chunk of memory to a specific value. It takes three arguments:
1) A pointer to the first element you're going to change.
2) The value you're going to use to fill the chunk of memory.
3) The length of the chunk of memory, in bytes.

calloc() is like malloc(), except it takes two arguments (number of elements, and size of each element), and it automatically initializes all of the memory it allocates to zero.

i want to knw whr exactly i can use these.

You will never use malloc() or calloc() in C++. Ever. Just use new, it's simpler to use and you don't have to include any libraries to use it. As for memset(), you might end up using it, but I honestly can't think of a time where I've used it myself in a real program.

You will never use malloc() or calloc() in C++. Ever.

Wanna bet??? ;-)

I know of no good reason to use malloc() in a c++ program unless you are porting some old legacy program from C to C++. I don't think Tumlee said if can't be used, just that there is no reason to use it. In some cases malloc() can't be used.

Wanna bet??? ;-)

Well, I can't think of a good reason to. Maybe if you wanted to take advantage of realloc() for some sort of insignificant speed boost.

Tks for ur reply guys.....

Wanna bet??? ;-)