Hello everyone.I am new to vb.net 2008 and i am in trouble.The problem for me is that i am making a windows form for a company and i am in a mess in getting my database connection to my datagridview by clicking a button and my data should been shown in datagridview.pls give me suggestion about datasets and connection strings.and even i want to print the document.so pls help me out.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

what database you are using then?

Connection String Sample :

here for access : Access
here for sql : Sql
here for MySql : MySql

in ButtonClick Event do this :

Try
            Using conn As New MySqlConnection("your string connection")
                conn.Open()
                Dim adapter As New MySqlDataAdapter("select * from table_name", conn)
                Dim dt As New DataTable
                adapter.Fill(dt)
                DataGridView1.DataSource = dt
                adapter.Dispose()
                conn.Close()
            End Using
        Catch ex As Exception
            MessageBox.Show(ex.Message)
        End Try

i use MySql for sample.

@artemix22 my database is an access file.See i am having two windows form i.e 1st is Login Page and 2nd is my Document Page.Now in my doucment page i have three buttons and a datagridview.now 1st button is (Browse),2nd is Print and 3rd is cancel.now main concern is that i cannot open or get my connection string using a dataset in datagridview.and one more thing...i don't want to open my database on form_load_events.so help me with this also.

call this code on ur button click to display ur records in datagridview

'open connection
Try
   Dim myCommand As New OleDbCommand
   With myCommand
        .CommandText = "SELECT * FROM tablename"
        .CommandType = CommandType.Text
        .Connection = Connection
   End With
   Dim dt As New DataTable
   dt.Load(myCommand.ExecuteReader)
   With DatagridView1
        .AutoGenerateColumns = True
        .DataSource = dt
   End With
Catch ex As Exception