I developed a c++ ATL com dll. I'm trying to use it in C#.

In C# I have a method with a parametr of "ref object" type (in C++ is a VARIANT* I convert it to SAFEARRAY of doubles).
For use this method I create a double[] variable but it throws me this error:

Argument '3': cannot convert from 'ref double[]' to 'ref object'

If I create
object x =null;

And after call to method I execute: double[] myarray = (double []) x;
It run ok, but I would like avoid those steps.
Thanksss

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Maybe it's because I'm just learning this stuff, but what exactly are you trying to accomplish?

If we're always going to have a value of type double, why not just cast the object to double, have an array, and add it to that array? Will this array have other values later on?

Like I said, I'm kind of new at C#. But, it seems like there might be a better way. Will x ever be brought in as an array itself, or will it always be a single object?

Maybe it's because I'm just learning this stuff, but what exactly are you trying to accomplish?

I want pass a double array from c# to a c++ dll.

If we're always going to have a value of type double, why not just cast the object to double, have an array, and add it to that array? Will this array have other values later on?

I will be always array of doubles, but passing to c++ dll it have to be a VARIANT* in c++.
When and how can I do cast in c#?

A cast is what you're doing when you do this code:

object x =null;
double[] myarray = (double []) x;

basically, the (double []) part converts x from type object to type double. I assume that it's passing the contents of x, as a double, into myarray?

Can the DLL you wrote support Generics? If so, maybe you could create a generic collection (you can have a collection that contains different types of objects), and pass that to the DLL.

Hi,