Sub-Heading Here

im working with time in and time out app which compute all of the hours that you've been working.
and i got this error.! i dont know how to fix these. plss help me im a beginner.

error: variable th1 might not have been initialized
error: variable rh1 might not have been initialized
error: variable hh1 might not have been initialized

import java.util.Scanner;
public class fasdsga {

public static void main(String[] args) {

int ti,to,hh1,rh1,hh2,rh2;
            String th,th1;

Scanner x = new Scanner(System.in);
            System.out.println("Time in:");
            ti=x.nextInt();
            System.out.println("Time out:");
            to=x.nextInt();
            th=x.next();

if(th.equals("y")){
                hh1=(to-(ti+100))/100;
                System.out.println("Holiday Hours:"+hh1);

}
            else if(th.equals("n")){
                rh1=(to-(ti+100))/100;
                System.out.println("Holiday Hours:"+rh1);
            }
                else{
                System.out.println("......");
            }

ti=x.nextInt();
            System.out.println("Time out:");
            to=x.nextInt();
            th=x.next();

if(th.equals("y")){
                hh2=((to-(ti+100))/100)+hh1;
                System.out.println("Holiday Hours:"+hh2);

}
            else if(th1.equals("n")){
                rh2=((to-(ti+100))/100)+rh1;
                System.out.println("Holiday Hours:"+rh2);
            }
            else{
                System.out.println("......");
            }
        }
    }

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Means what it says. The compiler attempts to check all the paths through your code to make sure you always initialise variables before you try to use their values. It has seen that there are some combinations of the if tests where this may be a problem.