Hi, so I have to write a program for my Java assignment and I am just starting out so I might be doing this wrong but I can't figure out why it won't invoke the method I have created.

import java.util.Scanner;
public class EvalMarks1 {
    public static void main(String[] args) {

Scanner input = new Scanner (System.in);
        int i;
        String endProgram = "NONE";
        String [] student = new String [10];
        do {
             System.out.println ("Please enter name of 10 students:");

for (i = 0; i < 10; i++)
        {
            System.out.print ("Student " + (i+1) + ": ");
            student [i] = input.nextLine();
        }         
        student.print ();

}while (true);

}

public void print (String [] student)

{
        int i;

for (i = 0; i < 10; i++)
        {
            System.out.print (student [i] + "\n");
        }
    }
}

This isn't the full program yet, but I can't proceed without invoking the method and I know this can be done without creating a method but it is required to do so in my assignment. Any help would be great, thank you

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Do you have an error message (eg something about static context?). If so please post the exact complete message (copy/paste, don't summarise it)

Sorry. I am using netbeans and it's giving this error Click Here

1. You have defined a print method with one parameter (String[]), but when you try to call it you don't pass any parameter. In other words: student.print() is looking for a print method with no parameters, and you have not defined any syuch method.
  2. student is an array of Strings, so student.print() is looking for a method print() that is defined in the String[] class.

The definition is OK, so it's the call you need to fix. Once you have dome that you will get a "Non-static method cannot be referenced from a static context" error - try to fix it yourself before coming back here for more help.