Hey guys I'm new to programing and I made a program to solve quadratic formula but it doesn't work with imaginary numbers when the number is negative I get something like this -1.#IND. What can I add or adjust in my code to help get the program to show imaginary 'complex numbers'. Thanks!

Edit: Also is there a way to do this without the #include <complex>\

#include <iostream>
#include <cmath>
using namespace std;

double a, b, c, rootvalue1, rootvalue2;

int main()
{

cout <<"This program will have you enter coefficients a,b, and c.\n"                  //Explains what the program will do.
        "This will calculate two root values using the quadratic formula." << endl;
    cout <<"Enter Coefficient a: ";
    cin >> a;

if (a == 0)                                                                             //If user enters 0 it will quit the program and give them error message.
    {
        cout << "0 is not a sufficient coefficient for this program.\n";
        cout <<"Restart now and try again." << endl;
        exit(0);
    }

cout <<"Enter Coefficient b: ";
    cin >> b;
    cout <<"Enter Coefficient c: ";
    cin >> c;

rootvalue1 = (-b + sqrt(b * b - 4 * a * c)) / (2 * a);         // Quadratic formula
    rootvalue2 = (-b - sqrt(b * b - 4 * a * c)) / (2 * a);          

cout <<"The first Root Value = " << rootvalue1  << endl;          //Roo Answer
    cout <<"The second Root Value = " << rootvalue2  << endl;

return 0;
}

Edited by Sasquadge

Contributors
Replies
Views
4 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by rubberman