Hi I’m fairly new to c# programing so please bear with me. I’m currently working on a “simple” little program which allows the user to enter 5 values into the same text box and once this has been done I want to be able to display the maximum and minimum values and also the average.

Although I’m not completely sure how to do arrays I realise I need to use one for this to work. Im really getting confused how I can get the first inputted value to store into the array indexed 0 then once its stored here move to the next one and store that into index [1] and so on upto 5.

Any help will be much appreciated as ive hit a brick wall

Cheers

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

When the user is entering the 5 values are they entering one value, clicks save and then entering the next value ? if they are entering them in the same box at the same time (e.g. 12 34 56) then you may need to tokenise the input.

Also have a read though these links they may be of some use to you:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa288453(v=vs.71).aspx
http://www.switchonthecode.com/tutorials/csharp-basic-array-tutorial
http://www.c-sharpcorner.com/UploadFile/mahesh/WorkingWithArrays11142005060354AM/WorkingWithArrays.aspx

No they enter the first value click an add button then that gets stored in the array as index[0] then the textbox is cleared and they enter the second number and that is stored in index[1] once the user has entered the 5 values then you work with the 5 values that are stored in the array to find out which is the highest lowest then find the average.

Thanks for your response

If you are not limited to the use of arrays this can also be done using a List<int> NumberList = new List<int>();

This will allow you to use NumberList.Add(); to add the numbers from your text box. The list also allows for-each looping through its contents which I would prefer to use over for loops (personal preference) when calculating the outputs.