actually, I am new to C++ , although not new to programming. i have a vector of pairs ,

vector<pair<double, pair<int,int> >>

and i want to sort it in incresing order. for simplicity, i am using sort() inbulit function. does pair has ibuilt '<' operator ? or we have to override it ? if yes, then how will cmp will be declared ?

x,y are coordinates of a point and double is their polar angle. and i am doing this sorting so that after sorting the points are in the order which will make a polygon. thanks if u can help me. any help will be appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

From cplusplus.com:

The header <utility> also overloads the relational operators ==, <, !=, >, >= and <= , so as to be able to compare pair objects of the same type directly:

Two pair objects are compared equal if the first elements in both objects compare equal to each other and both second elements also compare equal to each other - they all have to match.

In inequality comparisons (<, >), the first elements are compared first, and only if the inequality comparison is not true for them, the second elements are compared.

So, there you go :) As long as the things in the pair have operator< defined you're OK.

x,y are coordinates of a point and double is their polar angle. and i am doing this sorting so that after sorting the points are in the order which will make a polygon.

For a sort using the default operator< for std::pair<> to result in an ordering of the points of a polygon,

• The polygon must a a convex polygon
  • The polar angle must be the polar angle based on a point which is within the convex polygon.

Note: You could also use std::vector< std::tuple< double, int, int > > instead of the vector of nested pairs.

You could also use std::vector< std::tuple< double, int, int > > instead of the vector of nested pairs.

It's a personal thing, but I'm not keen on tuple. std::tuple< double, int, int > isn't very meaningful. I'd much rather see a dedicated struct or class: