int p=345;

sprintf(s,"%d",345);

g=s;

g+=".mp3";

cout<<g<<endl;

getchar();
     return 0;

}

I have a very small doubt about strings. this is code snippet i have shown. when i have called sprintf(), then it has changed 345 to string with NULL character at this end. right ? so when i equalize g with s, then it is also = to 345. but qstn is that why string is rejecting NULL at the end ? and what can i do if i want to have a NULL in the g when i am writing "g=s". please help me if u can. thanks. (i am just learning all these things, not a experieced C++ programmer).

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

but qstn is that why string is rejecting NULL at the end ?

What does that mean? What do you think the string object g should contain after this: g=s;? What do you mean by saying it is rejecting NULL?

I will explain what happens, and you can tell me where it doesn't do what you think it should.

sprintf(s,"%d",345);
s is a char pointer that points at an array that now contains the chars: '3' '4' '5' NULL

g=s;
g is a string object. When you use the = operator on a string object with a char-pointer, as in this case, the characters that the char pointer is pointing to get copied into the character storage area of the string object, with a NULL at the end. So now, the string object g contains somewhere in it the chars: '3' '4' '5' NULL

g+=".mp3";
On a string object, when you use the += operator with a string literal (which is what ".mp3" is) a function is run. The function is the string objects += function (better called an operator, but you can think of it like a function). The function takes the letters of the string literal, and writes them into the character storage area, starting at the NULL (which is overwritten), and then puts a new NULL on the end. So now the string object's character storage area contains the following: '3' '4' '5' '.' 'm' 'p' '3' NULL