Write a program that counts words, characters, uppercase letters, lowercase letters, digits
and special characters in a phrase

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Please have a go at doing this. Then we are happy to help.

mat bro I can't..I don't even know how to start this after first initial code.please help me!

Following code count digits in a string.

#include <iostream>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

int main()
{

string str = "hel22lo35Wo4rld";    //string with digits
    int digitCount = 0;

//string is char of array so we will check each char whether it is a digit or not
    //by using loop

for(int i=0; i<str.length(); i++)  
    {
        if(isdigit(str[i]) && str[i] != '\0')
        {
            digitCount++;
        }
        cout<<str[i]<<" ";
    }

cout<<"\ndigits in string is : " <<digitCount <<endl;

return 0;
}

Hope this helps in case of digits count !

{

could you please explain these two lines for me as I'm a beginner please!

Oh, I see. Oh dear me.

OK, then, I will start with the if() statement, as it is the easier of the two to understand. Basically, what an if() statement does is take a true or false value, and based on that value, select from one of two paths to take. The general form of it is

if (<conditional_expression>) 
    <true_case>
else
    <false_case>

In the case where you only need to test for a true case, you can omit the else and the false case.

This particular if() statement has two parts, connected by an AND operator (the && part). This means that the condition is true if and only if both of the clauses on the two sides of the operation are true.