Member Avatar for napninjanx

I have been reading this eBook called C Programming for the Absolute Beginner, Second Edition.

I'm starting to get the hang of the logic at the moment

Something just struck my mind.

If a person wanted to build a program for photo editing. Kept It simple and basic only for cropping, lighting, and filters of all colors.

If a person wanted to build a photo editing program

Would the person write the code like this I won't use any punctions in the code at the moment since I am new and learning the ropes.

A person would write

"Okay Mr program you will crop photos once the mouse Is seletected and highlighted"
"You will have all sorts of colors from red, blue, orange, green, black, maple wood"
"Your lighting will be all sparks and flame lights, fire lights, dangerous sparks for lighting"

Would this be a way to write this kinda of program? I'm just making up the sentence as fictitious.
Or would it need more work?

C Is all about writing text and thinking logically. If I not mistaken correct me If I am.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

The text is the code. Logic is how you apply algorithms (patterns for processing data) to data. This latter part is the difficult part. Image processing is VERY difficult. There are a gazillion factors to take into account, such as pixel depth (number of bits per pixel), size of image (x pixels vs. y pixels), shading, rendering, ray-tracing (if you are doing synthetic image generation), etc. My advice (after 30+ years doing this stuff) is to study well-written tools that do this. There are a plethora of tools in the FOSS (Free and Open Source Software) domain that do it. One great example is GNU's Gimp package. Study that. Understand that. And you may be ready to start writing some of this stuff on your own.

Well, for a design document, I suppose it's a start. You would need a lot more detail, however, even before you could consider writing any actual code.