I am just starting out with c++, but I have a goal in mid. I have already programmed the logical portion of what I wish to acomplish in Java, but it doesn't work, because I can't set a usb to read only for the whole system in Java (if I can;t do this in c++ then tell me now). I have this code and it can read the file fine, but when I write to it and then open the file it doesn't actually write to the file.

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    fstream myFile ("C:/Test/C++FileRW/test.txt");
    string line;        

if (myFile.is_open()){
        getline (myFile, line);

cout << line << "\n";
        myFile << "\nExtra Text Added";
        cout << "Wrote to file";
        myFile.close();
    }else {
        cout << "Unable to open file";
    }

cin.ignore(1);

return 0;
}

This should either append the Extra Text Added, or it should replace the original text, but it doesn't do either of those. What is the problem, and how can I fix it?

Thank you for your help.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

As an aside, this will fail if the file does not exist when an attempt is made to open it.

Try specifying the open mode when you open it:
fstream myFile ("C:/Test/C++FileRW/test.txt", std::ios::in | std::ios::out);

Whenever you want to you fstream as for both input and output operations, you have to explicitly say it when you open a file.
Have a look at a tutorial posted a while on daniweb Click Here

So, to be of any service, change this in your code:

fstream myFile ("C:/Test/C++FileRW/test.txt");
string line;        

to

fstream myFile;
myFile.open("C:/Test/C++FileRW/test.txt", ios::in|ios::out|ios::app); //this will open the file for both input/output and
                                                                      //append mode
string line;        

@Moschops: I do believe that opening a fstream file like this:

fstream myFile ("C:/Test/C++FileRW/test.txt", std::ios::out);