Hi there, I'm just new to programming and C++
I have trouble with my code
At first I am using "int" for variables but then I realize that i need a much larger range of numbers and also support for decimal operations...
My First Code:

#include <stdio.h>
#include <conio.h>

void A(int* res)
{
    int a,b;
    printf("Enter Numbers A: \n");
    scanf("%d %d",&a,&b);
    *res=a+b;
}

void B(int* res)
{
    int a,b;
    printf("Enter Numbers B: \n");
    scanf("%d %d",&a,&b);
    *res=a+b;
}

void main()
{
    int total,Ares,Bres;
    clrscr();
    A(&Ares);
    B(&Bres);
    total=Ares+Bres;
    printf("A + B = %d \n",total);
    getch();
}

That works just fine, but with a lower range of numbers
So then I tried converting all "int" to "float"

#include <stdio.h>
#include <conio.h>

void A(float* res)
{
    float a,b;
    printf("Enter Numbers A: \n");
    scanf("%.2f %.2f",&a,&b);
    *res=a+b;
}

void B(float* res)
{
    int a,b;
    printf("Enter Numbers B: \n");
    scanf("%.2f %.2f",&a,&b);
    *res=a+b;
}

void main()
{
    float total,Ares,Bres;
    clrscr();
    A(&Ares);
    B(&Bres);
    total=Ares+Bres;
    printf("A + B = %.2f \n",total);
    getch();
}

Then I got an output but is a disaster

Please Help...

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

You said you were learning C++ ... but did you realize that your code was in the C style?

In C++, one can pass by reference ... and so will not have to dereference a value passed into a function using the * dereference operator (that is used with passed in pointers that one wants to dereference)

And note that main returns an int

so it is ...
int main() // not void main()

commented: Thanks! +0

At line 14 you still have a and b declared as int but you scanf them as floats at line 16 which will produce the strange results you are seeing.

commented: Fixed the code but it doesn't fixed the problem, It gives me 0.00 +0

Actually sir, Our professor start teaching us by C++ Forgive me sir,