Hi All,

I am new to use of database in Java. I am trying to write a simple java application which connects to my Database and sends some query and retrieves the output.

I have downloaded MariaDB and then created a database named iff and created tablespaces which has some information.

I have also downloaded JDBC driver from MariaDB site "mariadb-java-client-1.1.3" and also imported this JAR file in my project library in Eclipse.

Im facing hardtime connecting to my database. I have tried some Syntaxes available in Websites but nothing worked.

Below is my program which DID NOT connect ,
Please help me how to connect to database and run some basic queries.

FYI
Database Name iff
Location of Database Installed (C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\MariaDBShared\HeidiSQL)
JDBC driver Name mariadb-java-client-1.1.3 (Jar File)
Location of JDBC D:\JDBC

import java.sql.Connection;
import java.sql.DriverManager;

import javax.sql.*;

public class UserService {

public static void main(String[] args) {
        // TODO Auto-generated method stub

String url = "jdbc:mysql://localhost:3306/"; 
        String dbName = "iff"; 
        String driver = "com.mysql.jdbc.Driver"; 
        String userName = "root";  
        String password = "root"; 
        try { 
        Class.forName(driver).newInstance(); 
        Connection conn = DriverManager.getConnection(url+dbName,userName,password); 

conn.close(); 
        } catch (Exception e) { 
        e.printStackTrace(); 
        } 
        } 

}

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Below is my program which DID NOT connect ,

do you see why "which DID NOT connect" doesn't help us? are you getting an error message?
this would be the best place for you to start, but have you considered the possibility that you're DB is not running?

Hi Stultuske,

Below are the error message im getting in the console window

java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: driver
    at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)