i have to calculate the MEDIAN of an unsorted array(i.e,array must be in sorted order before calculation of median).I am a beginner in java.kindly help me with some kinda code,and learn me how to calculate the median in this case?thankx

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Read the API doc for Arrays class, sort() method. We don't write people's homework for them, but make an effort and someone will help.

well em also doing effort..and first time i joined such kinda forum...em not asking for FULL help,actually i already had taken an input of 25 arrays and then found it's median successfully,now em facing problem in the actual LOGIC behind finding the median,at that time,when my 25 integers array is not sorted!!that's it sir!thnkx

em looking forward for your,as well as other peoples' reply...

As far as I know you have to sort the numbers then take the middle one.
The Arrays class has sort methods to make this really easy for you - see the API doc

yeah exaccctly!!! i wanna do such thing in my code...:) well are yew talking about this one ... http://docs.oracle.com/javase/7/docs/api/java/util/Arrays.html#binarySearch%28short[],%20short%29 ???? nd em unable to sort out my problem from this......actually,em unable to understand the logic as well as different codes...as their are may sorting algorithms ....kindly guide me thanks ! i have already calculated the mean and also made the menu for calling these three things,nd nooow i have to calculate the mode and median

import java.util.Scanner;
class mean
{
public static void main(String[] args) 
{ 

int c=0;
int m[]=new int[15];
Scanner input=new Scanner(System.in);
System.out.println("\t\t--------------------------------------------------");
System.out.println("\t\t^_^    Taking an array of fifteen integers   ^_^");
System.out.println("\t\t********* WE HAVE TO CALCULATE THE MEAN *********");
int sum=0;

for(int i=0;i<15;i++)
{
m[i]=input.nextInt();
sum=sum+m[i];
c=(sum/15);
}
System.out.println("meam"+c);
}
}