I am new to CPPUnit testing and have written test for login authentication function with various test cases. But it only accepts return value zero.

The first test case should return 1 if expected and actual are the same but it only works when I change to zero. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks.

void POSUnitTest::testAuthenticate()
{        
        CPPUNIT_ASSERT_EQUAL (console.Authenticate("testuser","password"),1); // valid username and password    
        CPPUNIT_ASSERT_EQUAL (console.Authenticate("testuser1","password"),0); //invalid username, valid password             
        CPPUNIT_ASSERT_EQUAL (console.Authenticate("testuser","password1"),0); //valid username, invalid password
        CPPUNIT_ASSERT_EQUAL (console.Authenticate("testuser1","password1"),0); // invalid username and password
        CPPUNIT_ASSERT_EQUAL (console.Authenticate(" ","password"),0); // Empty username, valid password
        CPPUNIT_ASSERT_EQUAL (console.Authenticate("testuser",""),0); // Valid username, empty password
        CPPUNIT_ASSERT_EQUAL (console.Authenticate("",""),0); // Empty username and password 
        cout << "Test 3) testAuthenticate successful.\n\n";   
}

This is my Authenticate function in class POSConsole.

int POSConsole::Authenticate(string _userID, string _password)
{   
    bool failedLogin=false;
    int returnValue=0;

_password = Encrypt (_password);     //Encrypt user enter password to compare with vector  

for (int index = 0; index < cashierVector.size(); index++)
        {
                if ( (_userID == cashierVector[index].getUserID()) && 
                 (_password == cashierVector[index].getPassword()))
                {
                        returnValue=1;                                                     
            system("clear");
                        POSMenu();                                
            break;                                
                }
                else
                {