Hi all ,

How can I send Service command in pys60 , I read it's available in S60 3rd Ed FP2 not in FP1 ,... So what does this mean ???? Is there a difference when I'm writing a code using python targeting FP2 devices or FP1 devices ??

If I have a device that is FP1 , Can't I design a code and give it to people with FP2 devices to test it ???

I'm new in python (pys60) and I still confused about its main concepts , so be patient ..

Many thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

It's like this, theres no python module for that, but you can write one using the Symbian C++ SDK API Plug-in package for S60 3rd Edition, Feature Pack 2 wich includes the Phone Client USSD API.

It's like this, theres no python module for that, but you can write one using the Symbian C++ SDK API Plug-in package for S60 3rd Edition, Feature Pack 2 wich includes the Phone Client USSD API.

Hi Beat_Slayer , It's been a while since we've met ....

As a newbie in python so bear with me .... My own device that I test my applicaions on it is FP1 , And I've installed Symbian SDK 3rd Ed FP1 , and I unziped Python SDK FP1 on it , and I installed PythonForS60 2.0.0 and Python 2.5 .

Now If I want to use these API that exists in FP2 , What should I do ???

Can I test my python application that include these APIs on emulator ??? and tell the user that this application works only on FP2 ??!!

Using these APIs require using SymbianC++ ???

I'm confused till now about all these main concepts , I used to use VS.Net where every thing in one place (IDE).

Many thanks in advance for your help.

Theres no module for python.

It's quite like this, best to go with Symbian C++, and yes only for FP2.

Or you can write a scriptext for that API, but it would still work on FP2, and it's quite some code.

Happy coding.

Many thanks for your help - as usual - , but I think I'm gonna leave it for a while till I got stable in Python and Symbian C++.

Many thanks , and looking forward to meet again.