I am a small business owner and I am trying to develope a way to keep track of my daily expenses and so on. What I have envisioned is a program that when it starts displays a screen that has you input a date, then a new screen will appear have the user input the money received. This process will continue until all required data has been entered in the each screen. After data is gathered the program will then print a "Daily Log form" and also save the created file. Can VB do this alone or will I need to utilize Access with VB. Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks,
Ryan

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

I am a small business owner and I am trying to develope a way to keep track of my daily expenses and so on. What I have envisioned is a program that when it starts displays a screen that has you input a date, then a new screen will appear have the user input the money received. This process will continue until all required data has been entered in the each screen. After data is gathered the program will then print a "Daily Log form" and also save the created file. Can VB do this alone or will I need to utilize Access with VB. Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks,
Ryan

Hi Ryan,

It sounds like you really need a database, access would be fine for what youare taling about. You could store information in xml or text file, but database would be better to report on etc later on as you grow.

VB can handle it by itself.... and would be easier than learnng the SQL Query's required to generate the kind of data and report that you want to do.... I will say to each his own. How I would do it, is I would build a VB program to handle all the data until the report is generated.... after the daily report is done, THEN add the daily record into the access database for storage and easier retrieval later.