hello, i am really new in C programming. This is regarding switch case. How do i limit user input in switch cases?
In this case, after they input 1 or 2, i dont want them to input any other number other than 0. Im still new in loop so any suggestion?

#include <stdio.h>
#incude<stdlib.h>
main(){
int number;
char Lunch_Dinner_Set[256] = "Lunch/Dinner Set: \n1 Burger/chicken\n1 drink (medium)\n0. Back to Menu";
char Breakfast_Set[256] = "Breakfast Set:\n1 breakfast\n1 drink (medium)\n\n0. Back to Menu";
char Menu[256]= "\n1. Lunch/Dinner Det\n2. Breakfast Set\n9. exit\nSelect Menu: ";

printf("%s", Menu);
scanf("%d", &number);
system("cls");

do
{   switch (number){
case 0: printf("%s\n", Menu); break;
case 1:printf("%s\n", Lunch_Dinner_Set); break;
case 2: printf("%s\n", Breakfast_Set); break;
case 9: exit(1); break;
default: printf("Invalid"); break;
}
} while(
scanf("%d", &number)+
system("cls"));

}

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

Use another do-while loop (ie: use nested do-while loop)

do{

do{

case 1:
       case 2:

}while(....);

}while(....);

You could use another do while loop inside,as cgeier suggested, or have a prompt and your input getting (I suggest using fgets rather than scanf) and some input validation, along witht some value that it checks for, e.g.

#include <string.h>
#define INT_LEN 10
/*EXTRA_CHARS for /n/0 at end*/
#define EXTRA_CHARS 2
int isValid=0, i;
char input[INT_LEN+EXTRA_CHARS];
do {
    fprintf(stdout,"Enter case value: ");
    */get rid of /n if needed here with a for loop*/
    fgets(input,INT_LEN+EXTRA_CHARS,stdin);
    if(condition you want to check) {
        fprintf(stderr,"Relevant error message here\n");
    }
    elseif (next condition you want to check) {
        fprintf(stderr,"Relevant error message here\n");
    }

/*more conditional statements here*/

else {
        isValid=1;
    }
} while (isValid==0);