Hi i'm a newbie here & my questions are :

0- *what should i know to develop a library like the C standard library and if im thinking of building my own OS "im just dreaming" should i create a NEw C for it cause as we know C for linux isnt C for windows ??

1-*if kernel is binary codes how those codes manage other codes "application" o.O ??

2-*and what really happens when i press the right button and menu shows up in windows for example ??

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

what should i know to develop a library like the C standard library

You should have a strong foundation in C, but not necessarily the uncommon features. As an example, here's a simplified partial implementation of the C library that I wrote. In my estimation, anyone with decent knowledge of C could follow it without too much trouble barring three areas:

1. The math library uses unions in a way that could be considered advanced.
  2. stdarg.h is very hackish and specific to the target compiler.
  3. The internal components depend on an understanding of the Win32 API.

if im thinking of building my own OS "im just dreaming"

Hardly, but writing an OS is among the most complex projects, if you want it to be more than a toy.

should i create a NEw C for it cause as we know C for linux isnt C for windows ??

C is a standardized language, so C for Linux is exactly the same as C for Windows until you start using platform-specific libraries. That happens quickly since any non-trivial program will likely call into the OS.

if kernel is binary codes how those codes manage other codes "application" o.O ??

The kernel is itself a program. A low level program to be sure, but still just a program. As concerns your question, I'm not sure I understand. Could you clarify what you mean?

and what really happens when i press the right button and menu shows up in windows for example ??