I only started learning Python a few days ago, so as a beginner, what IDE should I be using? Should I just start with IDLE, then move on to something else when I'm more advanced? I've been using Pycharm for the past few days, I didn't know if that's an acceptable IDE for a beginner.

Recommended Answers

All 31 Replies

I have no experience with Pycharm so I can't help with that. IDLE was OK but when I started using Python I was already used to eclipse so using eclipse with the python mod was an obvious choice.
Eclipse is almost certainly the IDE you will want to move to eventually.

I haven't used pycharm. But, you can try sublime text.It's great.You can also try vim editor.

PyCharm is good ide but if work a django try sublimetext

I like spyder. A nice feature is that you can start working with a good old plain python file, while many IDE want you to define a project first. It is also genuine free software !

In ubuntu, install with

$ sudo apt-get install spyder

I like WingIDE, you can det it from http://www.wingware.com It's not free but it's a good IDE designed specifically for python.

'IDLE' is always an easy ...
(and free) way to start coding in Python :)

The Eric IDE is full featured and written in Python:
http://eric-ide.python-projects.org/

For a beginner the nimble IDLE that comes with your Python installation is probably best.

Just write your own with python like normal programmars do, it the pythonic approach.

Just write your own with python like normal programmars do, it the pythonic approach.

Yep ... a really cool 'beginner' project :)

Just make a text editor and incorporate the interpreter.

Just make a text editor and incorporate the interpreter.

What about the GUI?

( A text editer too ? Recall ... a cool project for just beginners :)

You can just use the interpreter to open() a file and write your program, then just run it while you are within the inside of your interpreter..