I have to write a program that uses the shortest path that starts at a "home" city and goes to 3 other cities and back "home" again. I have been reading for a few hours about a good way to solve this problem. It seems to be a variation of the traveling salesman problem. I have read about using the dijkstra algorithm but that seems too complicated for this problem. I am using the cities Atlanta, New York, Chicago, and Los Angeles (Atlanta being "home") and want to use the actual miles between the cities in the program. My question is what would be the best way to tackle this problem? I am not asking for the code just how to get started. I am new to Java but am ok with C++.

I have made an undirectional graph with the miles between cities but I am unsure about where to go from here.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I think dijkstra is the way to go, what is your code so far?

Just 3 cities - you can search all possible paths. TSP is only interesting when you get many cities.

I have no code written yet. I am just trying to decide what is the best approach. I have looked at a lot of Dijkstra examples but none that I have seen come back to the "home" city.

Search all possible paths to find the shortest route to all 3 and back again? Which algorithim would you suggest for that? I have only been exposed to Java for 1 week.

First I think you need to understand how to make a graph of them and to find how reach from home position to goal position. Take a look at Breadt first search and if you have any experience with recursion take a look at Deep first search. If you understand those, implementing dijkstra for the shortest path would take you no time :)

Ok, Thanks. I was thinking since it's only 5 cities total and all I really want to do is find the route that takes me the least amount of miles, couldn't I just add up the mileage for every possible path and whichever is the lowest is the shortest path?