I was wondering if anybody has used the audio level detection software available at http://www.vbcodesource.com/downloads/audiolevel.zip
When I download the source code and run it I get two errors:
"Couldn't get wavein meter"
"Couldn't get waveout meter"

I am a beginner programmer and appreciate any advice or suggestions.

Thanks!

Joe

PS I am running Windows 2000 on an IBM Thinkpad

Recommended Answers

All 32 Replies

The only thing I get is an EXE, which I will NOT run unless I have the source code (then I'll compile it and run it).

The exe is compressed zip. Seems safe enough. I see if i can get the error.

I've uploaded the source files so you don't need to use the .exe to unzip.

Joe

I just found out that the program only works on certain sound cards. Would you mind running it and if it works letting me know what model sound card you have? Thank you!

Joe

Member Avatar for AlanC

Larmit,

Many sound cards don't have vu meters.

Have you considered putting the card in recording mode and grabbing some samples? You could loop round until an input is detected, or just use it as an indicator.. if you use 8-bit mode it makes it dead easy as the samples will be 127 if there's no input and anything else if there is. Hope this makes sense..

I've got some code somewhere that will do this if you need it.

Best of luck
Alan

Yes, I'd greatly appreciate it if you could share your code that accomplishes this.

THANK YOU.

Joe

Member Avatar for AlanC

Larmit..

Please see the attached zipped VB6 project. The code is thoroughly commented so hopefully should be easy to use...

The pre-compiled exe was compiled on a Win98SE system and because of the nature of the API used (winmm.dll) you will need to compile it again if the target system is NT/W2000/XP.

If it doesn't run as expected, I can do a version for you with lots of diagnostics in so we can see at which point it is failing.