Hey there everyone,
I have been a computer programming instructor for several years now. I like helping my students, but every year, they are the same age, and have generally the same skill set. So yes, I'm getting bored: it just feels like doing the same thing year in year out. THEY learn a lot, while I don't.

So, my thought has been to become a programmer, full time. I am wondering though: in order to do this, do you have to get a four year CS degree? I'm not saying that I won't if it is an absolute must. It just seems logical to ask people who already are programmers what their take on it might be.

cheers,
Pablo

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

CS is a different feild then programming. Though CSer's can compete for the same jobs. Sometimes schools advertize their "computer programming" programs as "computer science" for the presteige of the name without understanding that they two are different feilds.

If you want to study computer science, then you'll want to take computer science and probably some mainstream math. If you want to do programming but want to take CS, then you need to adapt what you learn from CS - it might just be better to take a "computer programming" program instead.

So, you might want to look into the difference of the various feilds before you commit to one.

Also it's not that one is a "java programmer". I mean, I'm sure there are people who never learned anything other then java. But it's more like "you're a programmer who knows java". There is a huge set of skills required to program that exist independantly of programming languages. In fact, you can pick up a language on the spot and already be an excellent programmer of that language simply by transferring the skills over. So I would be sceptical of programs that adversite "buzzword languages", because most of the skills you'll learn have nothing to do with programming languages.