I am new to java programming and I have to write an inventory program that can hold multiple items. I have my code from week 1 but I do not know how to write in the ability to hold multiple inventory items. Can anyone help with this?

Recommended Answers

All 20 Replies

You could use an array, matrix (multidimensional array), Vector, List, ArrayList, Collection, Map...
In my opinion, then simplest would probably be to use List<InventoryItem> inventory = new ArrayList<>();

Yes, we can, but we'd need to know what you have done already, or at least what you know how to do. We might need to see your code, or at least the part you are having problems with.

If you need to post part of tyour code, use the Code button on the top of the editing window to paste it it.

In general, for multiple items, you will need either an array, or a collection class such as an ArrayList or HashMap. For this purpose, where you presumably have items with names and a set of properties, a HashMap may be best, as you can then look up the item based on the name. A HashMap is a collection in which a key - for example, the name of the item - is mapped to a value - for example, the item object.

However, since this is an introductory project, I'm guessing they are looking for you to use an array, however. Arrays are the simplest of the compound data structures, being nothing more than a numbered series of elements of a given type. An array is declared like so:

int[] anArray = new int[5];  // a five-element array of ints
 String[] anotherArray = new String[10] // a 10-element array of Strings

You can then access the elements from 0...n-1 like so:

anArray[0] = 23;
 anotherArray[4] = "This is the fifth element of the array";

This is probably what you need to use for this assignment, unless your instructor said otherwise.

package cars;
// Robert Sigmon
// 10/12/2014 11:00 AM
public class Cars {

private final int prodNumber; // product number
    private final String prodName;// product name