Simple: write a c'tor that takes no arguments and puts in default values to the instance variables.

Sorry I did not understand a word of that. I am very new to java well programming period. Thank you for being paitent

Write a constructor for Cars that doesn't take any arguments, and just put in some generic values as the default. Something like this:

public Cars() {
     this.item = 0;
     this.name = "Ford Probe";
     this.units = 1;
     this.price = 5000;
}

The default values are whatever values you consider to be a reasonable 'generic' or 'typical' car. In this case, there really isn't any really good choice for it, but any common one should do. Add this to Cars and it should allow you to call it in CarsImpl.

So I need to replace this with the one above

prodNumber = (int) number;
        prodName = name;
        unitsTotal = (int) total; //validate and store total of cars
        unitPrice = price; // validate and store price per car

rob.sigmon: if you don't understand that part of the default/non-default constructors, you are (already) getting in way over your head.
it's better to ask your teacher for additional explanation now, while you still can catch up. if you don't, you risk to fall way to far behind to be able to make up.

You wouldn't replace it, no; you would have both. Java allows you to have two methods with the same name (called overloading a method), including a c'tor, so long as the parameter lists of the two methods are different.

Or you could just skip the default c'tor in CarsImpl, which would solve the whole issue entirely. Why did you want to have that there in the first place? It wasn't part of the assignment.

In my Cars.java file the error Iam getting now is with this part of the code

public int getProdNumber(){ 

And it says illegal start of expression

Also in the CarsImpl file

public float getTotalValue()

It says getTotalValue() cannot override getTotalValue() in Cars
return type float is not compatiable with int