Hi there,

I'm still fairly new to programming. Would someone be able to explain exactly how different windows should be used in MS Visual Studio?

It seems that variable sharing between different windows is problematic. So does that mean that if you are trying to do multiple things on one window, you should construct each thing dynamically?

An example. I have a window with a listbox containing a list of images. When I click, the selected image populates a larger image box. I want this image to go full screen when I click F5.

At the moment I telling the current window to launch a different window at fullscreen. But would a better way involve dynamically reconstructing the current window to display fullscreen?

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

It seems that variable sharing between different windows is problematic.

This is not true! Perhaps it is not easy or obvious, but it certainly is not problematic.
Look here how I tested parameter passing between two forms(windows).
The essence is you got to have a public field in the second form where you can pass anything from the first form.

That is ok for a simple case. If you have multiple windows that may be called in various sequences, and complex data to be shared, then the standard approach is to create a new class that holds all the data and make that class available to all windows.

commented: True indeed. +15
commented: Right solution +6

Agreed with @JamesCherrill.
Using a class object you can do it easily.

And there's more!
Your data class can raise events whenever it's data changes and your windows can have handlers/listeners for those events so that when one window changes the data all the others can automatically update themselves. Amaze your friends.

I'd also be sure all my windows/forms are running in the same thread, else race conditions might also become an issue to deal with.

Good point. In Java all gui activity is serialised on a single thread, but I don't know aboutC#.