Hello, I have no experience experience with Java programming and I spend more time lost than anything. I have made an attempt at my week's assignment but I am stuck. Here is the run down of my assignment for that week "Write a Java application using an Integrated Development Environment (IDE) (or directly from the command line compiler) that calculates the total annual compensation of a salesperson. Consider the following factors:
•A salesperson will earn a fixed salary of $50,000.
•A salesperson will also receive a commission as a sales incentive. Commission is a percentage of the salesperson's annual sales. The current commission is 15% of total sales.
•The total annual compensation is the fixed salary plus the commission earned"

I have also included a zip file of my coding

Here is what I am trying to do in the main class SalesPerson at the bottom where there it says
public double computeCompensation(double salesAmount)
I need to compute the total annual conpensation, that should have a return type, and shouls return the results of a double and the formula I am suppose to use is
baseSalary + commissionRate x salesAmount
I an I have been playing with code to get it to work and I can't figure it out. Can someone please help me with this.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Hi
Yes, people here will help, but not many will bother to download a zip file from an unknown source!

Post your code here (use the code button above the editor) and people will read it.

Im sure u get tons of suggestions to look here or there. But i have to say this guy taught me a great deal. Go to 'newthinktank.com', click on 'videos' in the blue menubar at the top. You'll get a dropdown. Choose 'Java Video Tutorial'. I think it would be well worth your time. I think he has like 90 videos covering multiple aspects of Java. He's my goto guy. His name is Derek Banas. Check him out.

Doug

I had a quick scan over some of the content referenced by NebulaM57. Can't say I was very impressed