Hi guys,
I wonder if this is something I could do on this forum.
I've never worked with REST, so I thought that it could be a good exercise to try to develop a very small and simple Java application and try to make use of REST as well.
I found a brief which seems simple enough, I'll share it with you (I'm happy to change this of course if you think it's useful as for me it's just practice).

As a Rest Client
I want to submit new orders for bricks
So I can start customers’ orders

Given
A customer wants to buy any number of bricks
When 
A "Create Order" request for a number of bricks is submitted
Then
An Order reference is returned
And
The Order reference is unique to the submission

There will be more stuff later about retrieving an Order, but I thought this is a good start.

Now, I said above that I have no experience with REST, so I've been doing a bit of research and before I start coding I thought it might be a good idea to sort of clarify how we should proceed and the tech needed (I could also upload everything to git so that anybody else interested in it could benefit).

I guess I could start with a normal Java project, have a POJO Order class and a Brick one and a main class which would create the necessary objects, they seem to be the very minimum to start with.
As to how to proceed after that, I might need a bit of a guidance – that's providing that I started the right way of course.

In terms of storage, what's the easiest, using an SQL database of some Spring inbuilt database if there is any such a thing – I'd like to simplify the storage as much as possible so that I can concentrate more on the java code.

Is it a good idea to use Spring boot?
I know this is gonna be a very long thread, but I think it might be useful.

Recommended Answers

All 50 Replies