Introduction
hey all, I'm matt. I'm new to this forum and C. I hope to stick around and eventually be able to ANSWER questions instead of sit around being new to this.

but for now, new to this is what I am.

My Background
I've been learning from Dave Mark's "Learn C on a Macintosh" I have basic knowledge of java and full knowledge of JavaScript. My home turf is max/msp.

The Confusing Example
Everything was going fine until I hit this one function in the examples. now I'm completely confused.

void	ReadLine( char *line ) // line is a string
{
	while ( (*line = getchar() ) != '\n' )
		line++;

*line = 0;
}

The Questions
Can someone tell me, step by step what this code does???
It's so compact that I really just don't understand it.
How does getchar know which char to get?
How can you assign and compare in the same expression?
Why increment a char?
all these questions and more, answered when you stay tuned to
"When Geeks Pull Out Their Remaining Hair"
after these messages....

-matt

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

It's not very good example especially for beginners.
You need to know that C strings are ordinary arrays of characters that ends with zero character '\0' or just 0.
for example if you define c string like:

char text[50];

It means it can store 49 character + zero character.
You can look to name of an array as a pointer to first element in an array (although it's not quite true).
You have a function that receive char pointer and that is just it a pointer to character. It can be incremented and decremented.
If you call function EeadLine(text) that means that pinter to the first character in array text is copied and thransfered to function. You can increment and decrement pointer in that function, so you can traverse your array.
getchar() function read from standard input and returns int, not char, and in your example there is truncation which is why I don't like this example very much, but this can serve to teach you more about C strings.
Line: