Im new to python , trying to update my self from the time of ASP Classic.
In that time i use to have a page for vars that i included in my main page.

I like that method because i can keep all my vars organized.

I tried to do that with python but allways get errors, yes i tried declare them as global as well but still got errors.

Is there a way to do that with python or is it better to declare them as you go?

thanks

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Also, can i put my vars in a txt like this:

var1=something1
var2=something2

and access them from python?

can i put my vars in a txt like this:

var1=something1
var2=something2

and access them from python?

Would it be acceptable to use a Python file with these as globals, and then import the data that way? It would leverage the Python package system to avoid having to explicitly read the data files. I don't know if this is something which would be feasible for your project, but it might be worth looking into.

commented: the idea is to add remove change the content of the software without using the code, just fill the txt and your set for your needs +1

Overall, in Python (and nearly every other language) you generally want to use global variables as little as possible, and share variables between functions and methods by passing them as arguments. You can use globals, but you would be fighting the language's overall procedural/OOP design in doing so.

As a rule, you want to limit the scope of variables to the narrowest visbility that is usable, not the widest. Otherwise, you could end up with undesirable side effects where a change in a variable in one place causes its use elsewhere to be compromised. Ideally, when working on one function you don't need to pay any attention to the local variables in any other function - that's why they are local, you can't access them from anywhere outside of the local scope.