Hi ! I have developed a Java application using Derby Database. The application jar file is successfully running on Windows but on Mac it gives and exception as following:

ClassNotFoundException: org.apache.derby.jdbc.EmbeddedDriver

I am pasting code for database Connection which I wrote.

String dbdriver = "org.apache.derby.jdbc.EmbeddedDriver";
         Class.forName(dbdriver).newInstance();
         con = DriverManager.getConnection("jdbc:derby:C:\\4DSOFTECHDB; create = true"); 

Note: This exception occurs only on Mac OS.

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

I have no experience with Java or Derby. But your code seems to connect to a database whose files are stored at a path on the C:\ drive. That type of file system convention doesn’t exist on macOS, which is Unix-based. Instead, try replacing the path with something like /home/username/softechdb.

Dani is right. But to specify a location within your home folder in MacOS use the Tilda, eg ~/Documents/softechdb

commented: I know I am replying very late, Yes it was the Path format error. But there is only one problem +3

Thanks Dani and James. I tried the Path as you told, but I am facing same error. I tried to create a simple txt file and it created successfully by using your path guidelines. But the problem is remain there regarding the DB. It seems like that there is a problem regarding to DB driver class. But I could not find it. On windows it is running successfully.

Derby is not included in current JDK distributions, you need to download it separately and add the jars to your classpoath or project libraries.
Maybe your Windows JDK is old (pre JDK 9?) or maybe it was downloaded at some time in the past and is still there?
Ps The old ClassForName thing has been obsolete since Java 6. It's embarrassing how many web tutorials still show it.
All you need is getConnection with a suitable URL, eg

var dbURL = "jdbc:derby:/users/james/derbyTest;create=true";