Hi,
I am a total novice to VB.Net, and have been asked to develop a simple 4 function calculator as part of my coursework.
I am really struggling!!! I would be extremely grateful if anyone could please help???

( I have managed to use AppendText to get the numbers in the display panel, but I am at a loss with the code for the functions add, minus divide and multiply)

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

I am at a loss with the code for the functions add, minus divide and multiply

kk, the functions themselves are easy. Just do some such like this.

Private Function Add(lhs As Integer, rhs As Integer) As Integer
    Return lhs + rhs
End Function

If you pull numbers from the display panel with something like CInt(pnlDisplay.Text) then you can save each of the numbers punched in. Once you have 'em, you can pass 'em to the functions and push the result to the panel with something like pnlDisplay.Text = CStr(result) . Easy squeezy, don't forget to check for division by zero. :)

im doing this at a level now just remember that Integer type variables are for simple math (or double type variables for more complex stuff) . Tex/string isnt and for add use +, divide use / and multiply use *

e.g

Dim var1 as double
dim var2 as double
dim ans as double

var1 = Inputbox("Enter the 1st number")
var2 = Inputbox("Enter the 2nd number")

ans =  var1 * var2

msgbox "The answer is " & ans & " "

Thanks for replying guys..
Another problem I also have, is that the calculator is to be similar to a real one... i.e. only one display box for input & output..

I have declared Num1, Num2 and Total As DECIMAL
For the addition button, I have used the code..
Num1+= Val(txtDisplay.text)
Num2+= Val(txtDisplay.text)
then I've entered txtDisplay.Clear () to clear the display box

Then for the = button, the code: txtDisplay.text = Total

The idea being that I added the 2 numbers together and then they would be displayed when I press the = sign.