Hello and thank you for taking time to read my question.
I have been charged with the task of creating a scoreboard for use by one of our local teams, the problem is that I am still very new to visual basic (I am using Visual Basic Express Edition). I have the general layout of how the scoreboard is to look, and many of it's functions I've been able to figure out by the various threads on this site (Thank You Daniweb!). However, one of the main features of the scoreboard is the countdown clock for each period (fairly important, heheh). I'm not sure how to achieve this, though I have seen some threads here that hint at count down timers/stopwatches, the codes listed in those threads don't seem to work with VB express edition or are not what I need for this project. I presume that I would use one of the Timers (not sure of the difference?) and a Label, just not sure they work together.

What I am trying to accomplish is this:
A count down timer that would display as such, 20:00.0 (MM:SS.T) Minutes, Seconds, Tenth of seconds. I would like the be able to assign a keyboard key to start/pause the timer and another key to Reset it to its starting point (i.e. 20 minutes). For example, if the user presses the "A" key on the keyboard the timer begins its countdown, pressing the "A" key again would pause the countdown, and perhaps pressing the "R" key would reset it to 20:00.0

Once again, thank you for your time and consideration of this question from a genuine newbie that is willing to learn.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Have you been able to get the timer at least working? If so you're almost there. If not, simply make a quick program to understand how the timer works and use a text box to increment and display a count of each time the timer kicks off.

Then just use that timer to count the value down from your starting time. You can use the timer.enable property to start ad stop the timer for time-outs.