Greetings C++ Lovers:

I'm a student very new to this C++. Yes I took Linux & UNIX. That was a year ago and I've never applied it to ANYTHING. If it's not too much trouble, I'm at a loss. A Big LOSS. You see, the reason I say this is bcuz. I took the initiative to go to my instructor to try to understand these C++ fundamentals.......and guess what.......It was still like reading this..."hjgddwufweuifdhweuf"! YEA!!! He tried breaking it down for me, now that I'm here (AT HOME) trying to figure this out I'm lost and DON'T KNOW WHAT I'm DOING :mad:

I've been given an assignment to write a program that asks the user to enter one of the following state abbreviations NC, SC, GA, FL, or AL. This program should display the name of the state that corresponds with the abbrev. Entered. Can you please help me? PLEASE? This IS frustrating. AM I to start out like this?....

char STATE[5];            /*   State abbreviation*/
{"North Carolina", "NC"},
{"South Carolina", "SC"}, 
{"Georgia", "GA"}, 
{"Florida", "Fl"},
{"Alabama", "Al"},
};
cout<<endl <<endl;

Please forgive for my ignorance to this course.

Your assistance means a whole lot!:sad:

Sincerely,

AnG’

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Hmm maybe you need to look up on associative arrays HERE
But with your sparse knowledge of C++....

Here is a starter. I would create a structure for the two strings, then array of that structure.

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

struct states
{
	char *stname;
	char *stabbr;
};

states st[] = { /* State abbreviation*/
"North Carolina", "NC",
"South Carolina", "SC", 
"Georgia", "GA", 
"Florida", "Fl",
"Alabama", "Al",
};

int main(int argc, char* argv[])
{
	int array_size = sizeof(st) / sizeof(st[0]);
	for(int i = 0; i < array_size; ++i)
	{
		cout << st[i].stname << "\t" << st[i].stabbr << endl;
	}
	return 0;
}